family & friends
HomeRegisterLog in
Latest topics
» Malayalam Film Songs
by Admin Thu Nov 02, 2017 7:41 pm

» Star's Family Photos.
by Admin Thu Sep 14, 2017 11:18 pm

» Hindi Film Songs
by Admin Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:50 pm

» Great thoughts & words
by Admin Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:47 pm

by Admin Sat May 17, 2014 3:15 pm

» Rainy Pics
by Admin Thu May 08, 2014 7:02 pm

» FACES From Film Industries......
by Admin Tue Apr 29, 2014 4:26 am

Share | 

 Kerala’s Top 10 Leaders!

Go down 
Forum Expert
Forum Expert

Posts : 2295
Points : 6066
Join date : 2010-03-10

PostSubject: Kerala’s Top 10 Leaders!   Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:29 pm

A.K Antony

A seasoned politician and three times Chief Minister of the state, AK Antony, has earned appreciation of even his political adversaries for his simplicity and honesty in public life.
Antony, currently the defence minister of the country ventured into politics as a student leader .Apart being Chief Minister of Kerala, Antony was also given very improrant tasks by the Congress high command from time to time. Presently serving as the Member of the Congress Working Committee (from 1992), Member of the Central Disciplinary Committee of the AICC (from 1993), Member of the Central Election Committee of the AICC (from 2001).


A leader and a legend, AKG�s life is inseparable from the history of Left movement in the state. AKG joined the Indian National Congress in 1927 and joined the Communist Party, when it took shape in Kerala in 1939. Member of the Lok Sabha and remained so for 5 consecutive terms till his death on 22nd March 1977.

C Achuthamenon

C Achuthamenon, one of the most appreciated Chief Minister of the state , adorned the chief ministership for two consecutive terms: 1969-70 and 70-77. Menon started his political carrier as a congressman. Later he joined the Communist Party of India (CPI). He stood by the official faction when the party split in 1964.

E.K Nayanar

Erambala Krishnan Nayanar was undoubtedly one of the most loved Chief Minister of the state. His simplicity, honesty and social commitment caught the imagination of common people. A member of the CPI (M), Nayanar was the longest serving Chief Minister of Kerala, having been in office for a total of 4009 days, spanning 11 years. EK Nayanar passed away on May 19, 2004.


EMS was one of the founders of the Congress Socialist Party in Kerala. When he became acquainted with Marxism, EMS was greatly inspired by the Marxian ideology, and was one of the five members who formed the founding group of the Communist Party in Kerala in 1936. After the state of Kerala was formed, in the first elections in 1957, the Communist Party won a majority and E M S Namboodiripad became chief minister of the first elected communist ministry in India. EMS Namboodiripad was elected General Secretary of Central Committee of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) in 1977 and he led the Party in this capacity till the 14th Congress in 1992 when he stepped down due to ill health.


Known as the ‘Bhishmacharya’ of Kerala politics and the senior most leader in the Congress party today, K Karunakaran is surely one among the rare breed of Indian politicians. Karunakaran started his political career started as a member of the Thrissur Municipal Council from in 1945.
Karunakaran was elected 8 times to the Kerala Legislative Assembly between 1965 and 1995 and served as Chief Minister four times. Once known as a �king maker� in the Congress party , his political power has been on the wane, especially after his return to the party at the end of a short stint with NCP.

KR Gowri Amma

K.R. Gowri Amma is a living legend of sorts in Kerala�s political history. She entered the vibrant world of politics at a time when women hardly found themselves in politics. Starting her public life as a trade union activist, Gowri Amma became a prominent figure in the communist movement in Kerala. She became Revenue Minister in the first EMS ministry in 1957. After the split of Communist party in 1964, KR Gowri joined the newly formed Communist Party of India (Marxist).
In 1994 KR Gowri was expelled from CPI (M) on charges of anti-party activities. Following this she floated a new political outfit named Janathipathiya Samrakshana Samithy (JSS).
Gowri Amma- has the unique achievement of having completed 50 years as a legislator in Kerala Assembly.

Oommen Chandy

A charismatic icon for his followers Oomen Chandy began his political career through KSU, the student wing of Congress. Oommen Chandy Known to his near and dear ones as �Kunjunju� Chandy has been representing Puthuppally Constituency for the last 39 years. He was the Chief Minister of Kerala from 2004 to 2006. Now the Opposition leader in the state assembly Chandy has become a power to reckon within the Congress party in the state.
His simple life style, immaculate track record and above all his compassionate behavior earns him a unique position in the minds of each and every Keralite.

Panakkad Shihab Thangal

The Panakkad Syed family has a separate history of its own. The family is considered to be the direct decedents of Prophet Muhammed. This prominence helped the family to carve out a specialplace for them in Kerala�s Muslimcommunity, over period of time.
Panakkad Shihab Thangal was born into Thangal family on May 4, 1936 .When Syed Shihab was chosen to lead the Indian Union Muslim League at the age of 31, he became the youngest person to assume league�s leadership. He was Muslim League president for 34 years. Panakkad Shihab Thangal�s domain was never restricted to politics alone. He was also equally active in socio-cultural and educational fields. Till his death on August 1, 2009, the Panakkad Kodappanakkal residence used to be one major landmark for polticians as well as common people.

VS Achuthanandan

Leader of the masses, V.S. Achuthanandan is one of the most prolific leaders of Kerala Politics. His popularity and acceptance as a man for the common people during his stint as Opposition leader paved way for his ascendency to post of Chief Minister of Kerala. Starting his political career as a trade union activist, he is today the only living Keralite among the 32 members who left the CPI National Council in 1964 to form the CPI(M).
He took oath of office as 20th Chief Minister of Kerala on 18 May 2006. During his chief ministership the private sector units were revived. He initiated firm actions against encroachers in Munnar.
At the age of 86, his social commitment and idealist image makes him a man of the masses. He is humanitarian to the core. Unyielding and Unbending with a clean image, he carries with him the dreams of common man on the street.
Back to top Go down
Forum Major
Forum Major

Posts : 81
Points : 3076
Join date : 2010-10-05

PostSubject: Re: Kerala’s Top 10 Leaders!   Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:15 am

kollam Very Happy
Back to top Go down
Kerala’s Top 10 Leaders!
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
» Tourism initiatives of Kerala Government
» Islamic State Leaders Wife held using fake passports
» In Moscow, attacked one of the leaders of the Jewish Congress

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
family :: General :: General Topic & Chit Chat - പൊതു വിഷയം-
Jump to: